Already-eliminated Chyasal bow out with consolation victory

- Sports Bureau, Lalitpur

Jul 12, 2019-

Chyasal Youth Club crashed out with a consolation win after defeating Machhindra Club 2-1 in their last group match of the Lalit Memorial U-18 football tournament at the ANFA Complex in Satdobato on Thursday.

Chyasal staged a late comeback to cancel Machhindra’s 60th minute lead taken through Krishna Bhandari during their Group ‘A’ fixture. Karma Sherpa restored the parity in the 71st minute before scoring his second goal of the match three minutes from time. The first win in the five-team group, however, failed to lift Chyasal from the bottom of the table as they bowed out with four points. Machhindra were already assured of a place in the quarter-finals with equal six points to Himalayan Sherpa Club. Machhindra finished behind Sherpas on head-to-head record.

In another game in Group ‘B’, Friends Club inflicted Three Star Club a 2-0 defeat. Both Friends and Three Star were already out of the race for the quarter-finals and were looking for a first victory. Nisen Subba put Friends ahead on the hour mark before Jiwan Gurung sealed the victory scoring another in the 86th minute. Tribhuvan Army Club have already entered the last eight from the group as winners maintaining 100 percent winning record. Departmental side Nepal Armed Police Force Club joined Army in the knockout stage as runners-up.

Brigade Boys Club with nine points and Nepal Police Club with six points have already made to quarter-final from Group ‘C’. Jawalakhel Youth Club from the same group and Manang Marshyangdi Club from Group ‘B’ also made it to the knockout stage as the two best third-placed teams.

Himalayan Sherpa will take on Manang, APF will meet Brigade Boys, Army will play against Jawalakhel and Police will lock horns with Machhindra in quarter-finals. The tournament features 14 youth teams of the ‘A’ Division clubs which has provision of sending top two teams from each group directly into quarter-finals. Apart from them, two best third-placed teams also join them in the last eight. Organised in the memory of late ANFA vice president Lalit Krishna Shrestha, the tournament offers Rs 300,000 to the winners and Rs 150,000 to the runners-up.

Published: 12-07-2019 09:33

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment