Congress demands government to explain ‘jana abhimat’ in its pact with CK Raut

- TIKA R PRADHAN, Kathmandu

Mar 20, 2019-

The opposition party, Nepali Congress, has demanded that the government explain its interpretation of the democratic process based on “jana abhimat” pertaining to the demands of the Madhesi community as mentioned in the agreement signed with ‘free Madhes’ campaigner CK Raut two weeks ago.

“It’s objectionable that the government has not clarified the common meaning of a democratic process based on ‘jana abhimat’ even two weeks after the deal,” the NC said in a statement on Tuesday.

The party’s central executive committee meeting on Tuesday also welcomed Raut’s decision to find a solution as permitted by the constitution.

The NC also suggested the Netra Bikram Chand-led Communist Party of Nepal to join peaceful politics, while urging the government to seek a solution through dialogue and not by force.

On the second day of the party’s central executive committee meeting, the NC also gave full shape to two party committees—Election Committee and Regulation Drafting Committee.

The NC had formed the central discipline committee on the first day. Resolving the long overdue conflict regarding its formation, the party had on Monday formed the central disciplinary committee led by leader Bhisma Raj Angdambe, with Kishor Singh Rathore and Devendra Raj Kandel--all three from President Sher Bahadur Deuba’s faction, as members.

The Tuesday’s unanimously decided to include Dhanraj Gurung from the Ram Chandra Poudel faction and Umakanta Chaudhary from the Krishna Prasad Sitaula camp in the five-member panel. The previous committee was headed by Ramesh Rijal.

Since the leaders from the Poudel and Sitaula factions have expressed serious concerns over the selection of the coordinator and members of the disciplinary committee, citing possible action against the leaders opposing the establishment faction, the panel has been mandated to take all the decisions through consensus.

The NC also formed its Central Election Committee, led by National Assembly lawmaker Radheshyam Adhikari, with Gopal Krishna Ghimire, Khamba Bahadur Khati, Ekaraj Pokhrel and Sitaram KC as members.

The Regulation Drafting Committee was also formed under the leadership of Ramesh Lekhak that includes Pradip Poudel, Min Biswokarma, Jivan Pariyar and Ishwori Neupane as members.

Published: 20-03-2019 07:15

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment